Opinion

Our CBM's Annual Review of the Economy

The presentation of the Central Bank of Malta’s Annual Report is always both an important and an interesting event. When ...

Tuesday, 19 Apr 2016, 08:45

Pensions: Times are suddenly interesting

Slowly but surely the debate about pensions in Malta is moving in a direction which, in generations to come, will, I am sure, ...

Tuesday, 05 Apr 2016, 09:28

Start doing something about it now.!!!

The world’s investments scene is going through interesting times. Challenging...or tumultuous...would probably be better ...

Wednesday, 23 Mar 2016, 13:07

Tommorow will come

This week, and I will be doing the same again next week in Gozo, I was honoured to represent the Minister of Finance at a meeting ...

Wednesday, 09 Mar 2016, 08:54

Change? Reform? What....?

Even as the European Banking Authority has on February 24th started another round of stress tests on some 53 major banks in the ...

Tuesday, 08 Mar 2016, 11:14

TTIP...Not a matter for rushing

The jury is well and truly out about the much trumpeted TTIP, the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership, which the EU ...

Thursday, 25 Feb 2016, 11:00

Your pension and what they'll take out of it

Time and again in this blog I have touched upon some of the many implications involved with the topics of adequate pensions, ...

Wednesday, 17 Feb 2016, 12:26

Skills gaps in Financial Services

The term “skills gap” is frequently thrown about by some members of the local media as part of their criticism of ...

Tuesday, 26 Jan 2016, 11:01

Cannot afford to be smug!

The new year did not start with much which could serve as warming to economic operators’ hearts. Most of the news about ...

Tuesday, 12 Jan 2016, 10:31

Economists: To be saved by outsiders?

For far too long now big chunks of the Western world have been living in a what has been described as “secular stagnation”. ...

Monday, 04 Jan 2016, 11:10

On the coming Brexit negotiations

2016 will be yet another crunch year for the European Union in its 58-year history. And the main momentum of most of the excitement ...

Tuesday, 29 Dec 2015, 11:36

ON DOING WELL.....

This blog has, over time, discussed economic topics which are either domestically or internationally focused. It is some time ...

Monday, 14 Dec 2015, 12:32

Will traditional economics do? (Again)

Traditional economics, which dominates academic and business circles in much of the Western world, depends upon at least three ...

Wednesday, 18 Nov 2015, 12:20

Economics and the Immigration debate

A lot of newspaper ink has been spilled over immigration. So why write another op-ed? The reason is that the economics behind ...

Tuesday, 03 Nov 2015, 07:22

Economic approaches...and rent seeking

Most introductory textbooks on modern macroeconomics can appear as very technical reading for persons who are totally uninitated ...

Tuesday, 13 Oct 2015, 10:52

Local news

Malta signs Paris Climate Change Agreement

Malta has officially signed the Paris agreement ...

More people get sick under Labour says Claudette ...

According to the Opposition Health Spokesperson, ...

Cruise liner visits double in first quarter ...

The number of visiting cruise liners doubled ...

3rd Edition of Valletta Green Festival

Malta's capital is celebrating the third ...

Europe

Norway's mass murderer wins human rights ...

Norwegian mass murderer Anders Behring Breivik ...

Two feared dead in Tenerife flats collapse

At least two people are feared dead and ...

Greece condemns use of teargas on migrants

Dozens of migrants and refugees were wounded ...

Deportations resume from Greece to Turkey

A second group of deported migrants has ...

World news

Deadly blast hits Mexico oil plant

A large explosion rocks an oil facility ...

Trump and Clinton win in New York

Donald Trump has won the Republican presidential ...

Equador earthquake death toll rises

A national emergency has been declared in ...

Gloves are off as Clinton and Sanders clash ...

Presidential hopefuls Hillary Clinton and ...

Earlier Opinion

Flexing Holy muscles

In the US the nuns congregation of ...

Tuesday, 06 Oct 2015, 11:02

The migrants into Europe invasion

Now I know that some people will not ...

Tuesday, 15 Sep 2015, 10:56

Quality rather than quantity

Would the Enron or WorldComm stories ...

Wednesday, 09 Sep 2015, 09:26

The death of economists?

“Death of economists: Do they still ...

Tuesday, 01 Sep 2015, 13:03

Salient elements of a vision

If this week’s blog is longer ...

Wednesday, 26 Aug 2015, 08:57

Not all reports are ..............

The concept is simple. Not all Reports ...

Tuesday, 18 Aug 2015, 11:51

Finance dominated capitalism...what future?

From the writings and pronouncements ...

Tuesday, 11 Aug 2015, 11:08

On flawed banking models

It is fashionable these days to talk ...

Tuesday, 04 Aug 2015, 08:48

Honesty pays....Dishonesty will come back ...

That, in a nutshell, is how I view ...

Tuesday, 14 Jul 2015, 13:04

Thinking,and acting, over a cycle

The “Government which Listens” session ...

Tuesday, 16 Jun 2015, 10:54

The other less problematic tyoes of banks

Even as the reputation of so many big ...

Tuesday, 28 Apr 2015, 12:13

Financial Literacy

As chair of the Education Consultative ...

Tuesday, 24 Mar 2015, 11:14

On naive fall guys

Once again I was at the merciless end ...

Wednesday, 04 Mar 2015, 10:26

Capolinea..and beyond?

The Italians have a nice expression ...

Wednesday, 04 Feb 2015, 11:48

Fools rush in

I’ve had quite a few good laughs ...

Wednesday, 21 Jan 2015, 13:14