World news

Chinese ferry capsizes: Hundreds missing

Five people are dead and hundreds are missing after a ship carrying more than 450 people capsized on the Yangtze River in China's ...

Tuesday, 02 Jun 2015, 11:42

Malaysia Airlines "technically bankrupt"

Malaysia Airlines is "technically bankrupt", its chief executive has said, as he announced a restructuring programme ...

Monday, 01 Jun 2015, 10:42

Colombia mudslide claims 52 lives

At least 52 people have been killed in a flood and mudslide triggered by heavy rains in western Colombia. An avalanche of debris ...

Tuesday, 19 May 2015, 11:26

9 dead in biker gangs shootout

Police in the US state of Texas say nine people have been killed and at least 100 arrested after a shootout between rival biker ...

Monday, 18 May 2015, 10:20

43 dead in Pakistan bus massacre

At least 43 people have been shot dead by men on motorbikes who attacked a bus in Karachi, according to police in Pakistan. Provincial ...

Wednesday, 13 May 2015, 11:04

7.4 earthquake hits Nepal

Reuters News Agency reports that another earthquake has struck Nepal which is still devasted by last months earthquake which ...

Tuesday, 12 May 2015, 09:23

IS claims it was behind Dallas shooting

Islamic State group says it was behind attack on Dallas Prophet Muhammad cartoon event in which two gunmen died The gunmen opened ...

Tuesday, 05 May 2015, 10:46

China and Taiwan leaders in meeting

The leader of Taiwan's ruling party and Chinese President Xi Jinping have held the highest level talks between the two sides ...

Monday, 04 May 2015, 11:22

Australia recalls ambassador after execution of drugs smugglers

Australia has recalled its ambassador from Indonesia after two Australian men were executed for drug smuggling. Andrew Chan ...

Wednesday, 29 Apr 2015, 10:05

Nepal declares three days of mouring following earthquake disaster

Nepal has declared three days of mourning for the victims of Saturday's earthquake in which more than 5,000 people are now ...

Wednesday, 29 Apr 2015, 10:01

Death toll in Nepal earthquake rises to 3,600

At least 3,617 people are now known to have died in a massive earthquake which hit Nepal on Saturday, police say. More than ...

Monday, 27 Apr 2015, 13:05

1,800 dead in Nepal earthquake

Rescue efforts in Nepal are intensifying after more than 1,800 people were killed in the country's worst earthquake in more ...

Sunday, 26 Apr 2015, 08:07

Japanese magnetic train sets new world speed record

A Japanese magnetic levitation train has broken its own world speed record, hitting 603km/h (374mph) in a test run near Mount ...

Tuesday, 21 Apr 2015, 12:46

Gyro pilot arrested near White House

A man has been arrested after illegally landing a gyrocopter on the west lawn of the US Capitol in Washington DC. Nearby streets ...

Thursday, 16 Apr 2015, 11:11

Hilary Clinton to run for US President

Former US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton has set out for a tour of key states, at the start of her campaign to become the ...

Monday, 13 Apr 2015, 09:23

Local news

Prime Minister inaugurates Casa San Paolo.

Prime Minister Joseph Muscat inaugurated ...

MCAST lecturer presented with City & ...

Joseph Cilia, a lecturer at MCAST, was ...

Developers and nurses union condemn Mater ...

The Malta Developers Association and the ...

Gated development should be on G7 agenda: ...

Former Prime Minister Alfred Sant told the ...

Europe

Rollarcoaster crash leaves four seriously ...

Alton Towers amusement theme park has been ...

Greece's PM in debt crisis talks in Brussels

Greek Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras is due ...

Italy rescues 3,300 migrants

Italy helped rescue a total of more than ...

Royal Navy rescues migrants

The Royal Navy's flagship has saved ...

Earlier World news

Foreign troops land in Aden

Reports have emerged of foreign troops ...

Thursday, 02 Apr 2015, 13:09

Lucky escape as Air Canada plane crash lands

A plane has come off the runway at ...

Monday, 30 Mar 2015, 13:12

19 injured in New York city explosion

At least 19 people have been injured ...

Friday, 27 Mar 2015, 11:27

FBI arrest three IS suspects

The FBI has arrested three foreign ...

Thursday, 26 Feb 2015, 13:15

Libya crisis: UN talks suspended

Libya's internationally-recognised ...

Tuesday, 24 Feb 2015, 10:21

Harris stripped of Australian honours

Disgraced veteran entertainer Rolf ...

Monday, 23 Feb 2015, 10:49

Egypt attacks IS targets in Libya

Egypt says it has bombed Islamic State ...

Monday, 16 Feb 2015, 09:19

Al Jazeera journalists released from Egypt ...

Al Jazeera journalists Mohamed Fahmy ...

Friday, 13 Feb 2015, 12:47

Obama warns Putin ahead of Belarus meeting

US President Barack Obama has warned ...

Wednesday, 11 Feb 2015, 10:53

Merkel to meet Obama on Ukraine peace plan

German Chancellor Angela Merkel is ...

Monday, 09 Feb 2015, 09:47

Taiwan plane crash: 12 dead

At least 12 people have died after ...

Wednesday, 04 Feb 2015, 10:00

Saudi King Abdullah dies

Saudi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz has ...

Friday, 23 Jan 2015, 13:00

Pope Francis arrives in the Philippines

Pope Francis has arrived in the Philippines ...

Thursday, 15 Jan 2015, 12:30

Australia swelters as bushfires rage

Australia has recorded its third-warmest ...

Tuesday, 06 Jan 2015, 12:49

Update: AirAsia plane: Bodies recovered

At least 40 bodies and wreckage including ...

Tuesday, 30 Dec 2014, 10:12