World news

IS claims it was behind Dallas shooting

Islamic State group says it was behind attack on Dallas Prophet Muhammad cartoon event in which two gunmen died The gunmen opened ...

Tuesday, 05 May 2015, 10:46

China and Taiwan leaders in meeting

The leader of Taiwan's ruling party and Chinese President Xi Jinping have held the highest level talks between the two sides ...

Monday, 04 May 2015, 11:22

Australia recalls ambassador after execution of drugs smugglers

Australia has recalled its ambassador from Indonesia after two Australian men were executed for drug smuggling. Andrew Chan ...

Wednesday, 29 Apr 2015, 10:05

Nepal declares three days of mouring following earthquake disaster

Nepal has declared three days of mourning for the victims of Saturday's earthquake in which more than 5,000 people are now ...

Wednesday, 29 Apr 2015, 10:01

Death toll in Nepal earthquake rises to 3,600

At least 3,617 people are now known to have died in a massive earthquake which hit Nepal on Saturday, police say. More than ...

Monday, 27 Apr 2015, 13:05

1,800 dead in Nepal earthquake

Rescue efforts in Nepal are intensifying after more than 1,800 people were killed in the country's worst earthquake in more ...

Sunday, 26 Apr 2015, 08:07

Japanese magnetic train sets new world speed record

A Japanese magnetic levitation train has broken its own world speed record, hitting 603km/h (374mph) in a test run near Mount ...

Tuesday, 21 Apr 2015, 12:46

Gyro pilot arrested near White House

A man has been arrested after illegally landing a gyrocopter on the west lawn of the US Capitol in Washington DC. Nearby streets ...

Thursday, 16 Apr 2015, 11:11

Hilary Clinton to run for US President

Former US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton has set out for a tour of key states, at the start of her campaign to become the ...

Monday, 13 Apr 2015, 09:23

Foreign troops land in Aden

Reports have emerged of foreign troops landing in the Yemeni port city of Aden. It is not clear what nationality they are. Aden ...

Thursday, 02 Apr 2015, 13:09

Lucky escape as Air Canada plane crash lands

A plane has come off the runway at Halifax airport after making an "abrupt" landing, Air Canada said. A handful of ...

Monday, 30 Mar 2015, 13:12

19 injured in New York city explosion

At least 19 people have been injured after an explosion caused two buildings to collapse in New York City. On Thursday afternoon, ...

Friday, 27 Mar 2015, 11:27

FBI arrest three IS suspects

The FBI has arrested three foreign nationals living in Brooklyn who agents say sought to join the Islamic State. Two of the ...

Thursday, 26 Feb 2015, 13:15

Libya crisis: UN talks suspended

Libya's internationally-recognised parliament has suspended its participation in UN-brokered talks aimed at restoring calm ...

Tuesday, 24 Feb 2015, 10:21

Harris stripped of Australian honours

Disgraced veteran entertainer Rolf Harris has been stripped of his honours in his native Australia. Harris was jailed for more ...

Monday, 23 Feb 2015, 10:49

Local news

Home Affairs Minister presents certificates ...

Home Affairs Minister Carmelo Ablea presented ...

Chris Said to step down as PN Secretary General

The Gozo contracts scandal has claimed another ...

Giovanna Debono resigns from PN but keeps ...

The former Minister for Gozo Giovanna Debono ...

Malta's economy performing better than EU ...

Malta’s economy is expected to continue ...

Europe

Teachers strike in Italy against school reforms

Teachers and students staged big rallies ...

German train drivers strike

Drivers for Germany's Deutsche Bahn ...

EU-Ukraine summit aimed at strenghening ties

EU leaders are in talks with Ukraine's ...

EU leaders to triple funding for migrant ...

European leaders are to triple funding for ...

Earlier World news

Egypt attacks IS targets in Libya

Egypt says it has bombed Islamic State ...

Monday, 16 Feb 2015, 09:19

Al Jazeera journalists released from Egypt ...

Al Jazeera journalists Mohamed Fahmy ...

Friday, 13 Feb 2015, 12:47

Obama warns Putin ahead of Belarus meeting

US President Barack Obama has warned ...

Wednesday, 11 Feb 2015, 10:53

Merkel to meet Obama on Ukraine peace plan

German Chancellor Angela Merkel is ...

Monday, 09 Feb 2015, 09:47

Taiwan plane crash: 12 dead

At least 12 people have died after ...

Wednesday, 04 Feb 2015, 10:00

Saudi King Abdullah dies

Saudi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz has ...

Friday, 23 Jan 2015, 13:00

Pope Francis arrives in the Philippines

Pope Francis has arrived in the Philippines ...

Thursday, 15 Jan 2015, 12:30

Australia swelters as bushfires rage

Australia has recorded its third-warmest ...

Tuesday, 06 Jan 2015, 12:49

Update: AirAsia plane: Bodies recovered

At least 40 bodies and wreckage including ...

Tuesday, 30 Dec 2014, 10:12

Jordanian pilot captured by IS group

The Jordanian military has confirmed ...

Wednesday, 24 Dec 2014, 13:24

Police fatally shoots teenager at petrol ...

A police officer fatally shot a suspect ...

Wednesday, 24 Dec 2014, 10:36

New York police killer sent chill warning

The gunman who shot dead two New York ...

Monday, 22 Dec 2014, 09:58

Massacre in Pakistani school

At least 126 people, mostly children, ...

Tuesday, 16 Dec 2014, 12:08

Update 2: Police say siege over in Sydney ...

Police now say siege over. This statement ...

Monday, 15 Dec 2014, 07:47

Obama slams CIA: Says no more torture

President Barack Obama said that he ...

Wednesday, 10 Dec 2014, 09:43