World news

Saudi King Abdullah dies

Saudi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz has died, royal officials have announced, weeks after he was admitted to hospital. Abdullah, ...

Friday, 23 Jan 2015, 13:00

Pope Francis arrives in the Philippines

Pope Francis has arrived in the Philippines for a five-day visit to the nation's 80 million Roman Catholics. He was met ...

Thursday, 15 Jan 2015, 12:30

Australia swelters as bushfires rage

Australia has recorded its third-warmest calendar year since national records began in 1910, the Bureau of Meteorology (BOM) ...

Tuesday, 06 Jan 2015, 12:49

Update: AirAsia plane: Bodies recovered

At least 40 bodies and wreckage including a plane door and oxygen tanks have been recovered in the search for missing AirAsia ...

Tuesday, 30 Dec 2014, 10:12

Jordanian pilot captured by IS group

The Jordanian military has confirmed that one of its planes has crashed over northern Syria and that its pilot has been captured ...

Wednesday, 24 Dec 2014, 13:24

Police fatally shoots teenager at petrol station

A police officer fatally shot a suspect who pointed a gun at him late Tuesday, St. Louis County police said. The shooting occurred ...

Wednesday, 24 Dec 2014, 10:36

New York police killer sent chill warning

The gunman who shot dead two New York City police officers told passers-by to "watch what I'm going to do", moments ...

Monday, 22 Dec 2014, 09:58

Massacre in Pakistani school

At least 126 people, mostly children, have been killed in a Taliban assault on an army-run school in the Pakistani city of Peshawar, ...

Tuesday, 16 Dec 2014, 12:08

Update 2: Police say siege over in Sydney hostage cafe

Police now say siege over. This statement comes minutes after Explosions and gunfire heard shortly after a number of hostages ...

Monday, 15 Dec 2014, 07:47

Obama slams CIA: Says no more torture

President Barack Obama said that he would make sure that the United States never again resorted to torture after a damning Senate ...

Wednesday, 10 Dec 2014, 09:43

Australia scraps plans to charge for doctor visits

A controversial plan to charge a A$7 (£3.7; $5.70) fee to see a GP has been scrapped by the Australian government. Prime ...

Tuesday, 09 Dec 2014, 12:52

Protests in US over police killing

Protests have been held for a second night over the death of a black man held in an apparent chokehold by a white New York police ...

Friday, 05 Dec 2014, 12:14

Egypt protests as Mubarak is cleared

Egyptian police have used tear gas to disperse protesters angry that charges against ex-President Hosni Mubarak over killings ...

Sunday, 30 Nov 2014, 08:28

Violent protests in US town of Ferguson

Violent protests broke out in the Missouri town of Ferguson after a grand jury announced it will not indict the cop who shot ...

Tuesday, 25 Nov 2014, 11:41

More US Snow To Hit After Deadly Storms

New York state is facing another huge snowstorm, which could leave some areas under more than eight feet (2.5m) of snow by Friday. ...

Thursday, 20 Nov 2014, 09:45

Local news

Prime Minister opens Labour Party Annual ...

Prime Minister Joseph Muscat opened theĀ  ...

News MT this week

A round-up of this week's news on News ...

Air Malta cabin crew call off industrial ...

Air Malta cabin crew have called off industrial ...

Malta and Turkey agree on maritime co-operation

The Minister for Transport, Maritime Affairs ...

Europe

Rebels dont't want truce in Ukraine

The main pro-Russian rebel leader in eastern ...

1 dead, 13 injured in Rome apartment explosion

Investigators are looking at the possibility ...

EU Foreign Ministers in call to tackle terrorism

The EU's foreign policy chief has called ...

Snow to bring fresh misery to Scotland

Snow has brought fresh disruption to parts ...

Earlier World news

Obama condemns latest IS killing

US President Barack Obama has condemned ...

Monday, 17 Nov 2014, 09:27

Korean ferry disaster captain gets life sentence

A Korean ferry captain, who fled his ...

Tuesday, 11 Nov 2014, 09:23

Republicans win control from Obama's Democratic ...

The Republicans have won control of ...

Wednesday, 05 Nov 2014, 09:08

US mid-term elections

Americans are voting in mid-term elections ...

Tuesday, 04 Nov 2014, 12:47

Pistorius gets five years for manslaughter

South African track star Oscar Pistorius ...

Tuesday, 21 Oct 2014, 10:46

Pistorius in court for sentencing

Oscar Pistorius has arrived at a South ...

Tuesday, 21 Oct 2014, 09:40

Pistorius still awaiting sentence for manslaughter

Pistorius, 27, could face a fine and ...

Thursday, 16 Oct 2014, 12:12

Pistorius pre-sentencing resumes

Oscar Pistorius has returned to court ...

Tuesday, 14 Oct 2014, 10:24

Pistorius sentencing today

The judge in the trial of South African ...

Monday, 13 Oct 2014, 09:33

Syria fights back against IS

Fighting has continued overnight around ...

Wednesday, 08 Oct 2014, 11:14

Hong Kong leader rejects calls to stand down

Hong Kong's leader, CY Leung, has ...

Friday, 03 Oct 2014, 13:07

Hong Kong braces for pro-democracy rally

As Hong Kong braces for huge pro-democracy ...

Wednesday, 01 Oct 2014, 10:17

Obama: US underestimated threat of IS

President Barack Obama has acknowledged ...

Monday, 29 Sep 2014, 11:32

Obama tells UN: Isis is death network

US President Barack Obama has called ...

Wednesday, 24 Sep 2014, 18:14

US attacks ISIS in Syria

The United States started attacking ...

Tuesday, 23 Sep 2014, 12:41