World news

Ukraine plane crash: 298 believed dead

Malaysian Airlines plane crashed in Ukraine killing all 298 on board . Malaysia's leader has called the Malaysia Airlines ...

Friday, 18 Jul 2014, 08:39

Pistorius murder trial resumes in South Africa

The murder trial of Oscar Pistorius is resuming in South Africa after a six-week break to evaluate the athlete's mental health. ...

Monday, 30 Jun 2014, 09:41

Kerry arrives in Baghdad as Iraq crisis deepens

US Secretary of State John Kerry has arrived in Iraq's capital, Baghdad, as Sunni insurgents expand their control of towns ...

Monday, 23 Jun 2014, 10:58

Iraq: Battle for oil-fields

The Iraqi army says it has beaten off Islamist-led militants attacking the country's biggest oil refinery amid reports that ...

Wednesday, 18 Jun 2014, 13:10

Pakistani jets attack militants

Pakistani fighter jets are reported to have carried out fresh air strikes against militants based in the north-west tribal area ...

Monday, 16 Jun 2014, 11:18

3 police officers killed in Canada shooting

A manhunt is under way in the Canadian city of Moncton after three officers were shot dead and two wounded. Police said they ...

Thursday, 05 Jun 2014, 11:05

Pele's son jailed for drug smuggling

One of Brazilian football legend Pele's sons has been sentenced to 33 years in prison for laundering money for drug traffickers. ...

Monday, 02 Jun 2014, 09:45

Missing British sailors presumed dead after yacht found

The search for four missing British sailors has been called off after their upturned yacht was discovered by US Coastguard. A ...

Saturday, 24 May 2014, 17:41

Pope Francis begins Middle East visit

Pope Francis has praised Jordan for its "generous welcome" to Syrian refugees at the start of a three-day visit to ...

Saturday, 24 May 2014, 17:34

Six dead in U.S. University shooting

A gunman has killed six people in drive-by shootings near the Californian city of Santa Barbara, US police say. The shootings ...

Saturday, 24 May 2014, 17:30

Military coup in Thailand

Thailand's army has seized power in a coup after months of political turmoil. The military says it has taken control of ...

Friday, 23 May 2014, 13:07

31 killed in deadly blast in China

At least 31 people have been killed and more than 90 injured after two vehicles ploughed into a market and explosives were thrown ...

Thursday, 22 May 2014, 11:09

Search for missing sailors resumed

An RAF plane prepares to join the hunt for missing yauchtsmen The US Coast Guard stepped up the hunt which now involves four ...

Wednesday, 21 May 2014, 10:15

Libya reels under weekend attacks

The Libyan government has insisted that it remains in control of the country despite a series of heavy attacks and clashes over ...

Monday, 19 May 2014, 12:04

Nigeria's President cancels village visit

Nigeria's president has cancelled a planned visit to the village from which nearly 300 girls were kidnapped due to security ...

Friday, 16 May 2014, 11:46

Local news

Joseph Muscat in talks with British PM

During his busy visit to the United Kingdon, ...

President launches National Trade Union Forum

The National Trade Union Forum was launched ...

Miriam Dalli calls for immediate action on ...

There is a need for the EU to act and act ...

PM meets Maltese athletes at Commonwealth ...

Prime Minister Joseph Muscat met with the ...

Europe

Costa Concordia begins final voyage

The Costa Concordia left the Tuscan island ...

Airlines suspend flights to Israel

American and European airlines have decided ...

Five dead in another migrant rescue operation

The Italian authorities recovered five dead ...

5 hour ceasefire in Gaza

Israel and Palestinian militant group Hamas ...

Earlier World news

2,100 dead in Afghanistan landslide

More than 2,100 are confirmed to have ...

Saturday, 03 May 2014, 11:40

Three U.S. doctors shot dead at Kabul hospital

An Afghan security guard has opened ...

Friday, 25 Apr 2014, 11:30

Update 1 :Hundreds missing as Korean ferry ...

Rescue teams are battling bad weather ...

Thursday, 17 Apr 2014, 12:00

36 die in Mexico bus crash

36 people have been killed in a bus ...

Monday, 14 Apr 2014, 11:39

Man eating crocodile captured in Uganda

A 1,000kg crocodile said to have eaten ...

Sunday, 13 Apr 2014, 08:28

Australia bracing for cyclone

The Australian state of Queensland ...

Friday, 11 Apr 2014, 12:10

Missing plane: Bleeps could be black box

An Australian vessel searching for ...

Monday, 07 Apr 2014, 12:10

Chile hit by massive earthquake

Chile has declared three northern regions ...

Wednesday, 02 Apr 2014, 09:29

Bad weather hampers search for Malaysian ...

Thailand says satellite images show ...

Thursday, 27 Mar 2014, 10:37

Missing Malaysian plane: Relatives clash ...

Angry relatives of passengers on board ...

Tuesday, 25 Mar 2014, 11:33

Missing Malaysia Airlines plane: Debris found

Thirteen days after the disappearance ...

Thursday, 20 Mar 2014, 10:01

Crimea votes to rejoin Russia

Crimea voted to secede from Ukraine ...

Monday, 17 Mar 2014, 09:59

Navy seals board hijacked tanker

U.S. Navy SEALs have taken control ...

Monday, 17 Mar 2014, 09:22

Missing plane: Pilots house searched

As the search continues for the Malaysian ...

Saturday, 15 Mar 2014, 08:58

Six dead in New York explosion

A gas explosion in New York City's ...

Thursday, 13 Mar 2014, 10:31