World news

Wildfires hit Washington state east of Seattle

A series of major wildfires have been burning across thousands of acres of Washington state, over 120 miles (190km) east of Seattle. ...

Tuesday, 30 Jun 2015, 11:25

Egypt's Public Prosecutor killed in bomb attack

Egypt's public prosecutor, Hisham Barakat, has been killed in a bomb attack on his car in Cairo, officials say. Mr Barakat ...

Monday, 29 Jun 2015, 16:50

IS strike back in Kobane

Islamic State fighters have attacked the Syrian city of Kobane, months after being driven out in a symbolic battle that made ...

Friday, 26 Jun 2015, 11:24

20 killed in bomb blast at Nigerian fish market

At least 20 people are reported to have been killed after female suicide bombers attacked a fish market in Nigeria's north-eastern ...

Tuesday, 23 Jun 2015, 12:28

IS militants place explosives at ancient ruins in Palmyra

Islamic State militants have laid mines and explosives at the ancient ruins in Palmyra, it has been claimed. The central Syrian ...

Monday, 22 Jun 2015, 12:31

US church killing: 21-year old arrested

The suspected Charleston gunman has been described as a withdrawn and troubled young man who showed signs of being fascinated ...

Friday, 19 Jun 2015, 10:58

9 killed in Church shooting

Police have launched a manhunt after nine people were killed in a mass shooting at a church in Charleston, South Carolina. The ...

Thursday, 18 Jun 2015, 11:12

Five killed when balcony collapsed

Five people have been killed and eight others injured after a balcony collapsed on an apartment building in Berkeley, California. ...

Tuesday, 16 Jun 2015, 13:04

Al-Quaeda top leader killed in airstrike

Al-Qaeda has confirmed that Nasser al-Wuhayshi, the leader of its offshoot in the Arabian Peninsula, has been killed in a US ...

Tuesday, 16 Jun 2015, 11:48

Hillary Clinton hits campaign trail

She strode on stage in a blue power suit - bold in colour but attempting to strike a strong, yet empathetic figure. This was ...

Monday, 15 Jun 2015, 11:27

Cop quits after pool party incident

A police officer filmed wrestling a 14-year-old girl wearing a bikini to the ground at a pool party has resigned. Officer David ...

Wednesday, 10 Jun 2015, 11:14

Judge orders release after 40 years solitatary imprisonment

A judge in the US state of Louisiana has ordered the release of an inmate who has been in solitary confinement for more than ...

Tuesday, 09 Jun 2015, 09:35

Chinese ferry capsizes: Hundreds missing

Five people are dead and hundreds are missing after a ship carrying more than 450 people capsized on the Yangtze River in China's ...

Tuesday, 02 Jun 2015, 11:42

Malaysia Airlines "technically bankrupt"

Malaysia Airlines is "technically bankrupt", its chief executive has said, as he announced a restructuring programme ...

Monday, 01 Jun 2015, 10:42

Colombia mudslide claims 52 lives

At least 52 people have been killed in a flood and mudslide triggered by heavy rains in western Colombia. An avalanche of debris ...

Tuesday, 19 May 2015, 11:26

Local news

Man arrested after driving wrong way and ...

A 25-year old man was arrested after driving ...

Home Affairs Minister reviews new Civil Protection ...

Home Affairs Minister Carmelo Abela today ...

US Embassy closed for July 4 celebrations

The U.S. Embassy will be closed on Friday, ...

First new buses put into service

Malta Public Transport announced that it ...

Europe

Crunch time for cash strapped Greece

Rival camps in Greece are set to hold major ...

Greek PM makes fresh offer to international ...

Greek PM Alexis Tsipras makes fresh offer ...

30 Briton's among dead in Tunisia terrorist ...

The number of British people killed in the ...

Eurozone reject Greece bailout extension

Eurozone finance ministers have rejected ...

Earlier World news

9 dead in biker gangs shootout

Police in the US state of Texas say ...

Monday, 18 May 2015, 10:20

43 dead in Pakistan bus massacre

At least 43 people have been shot dead ...

Wednesday, 13 May 2015, 11:04

7.4 earthquake hits Nepal

Reuters News Agency reports that another ...

Tuesday, 12 May 2015, 09:23

IS claims it was behind Dallas shooting

Islamic State group says it was behind ...

Tuesday, 05 May 2015, 10:46

China and Taiwan leaders in meeting

The leader of Taiwan's ruling party ...

Monday, 04 May 2015, 11:22

Australia recalls ambassador after execution ...

Australia has recalled its ambassador ...

Wednesday, 29 Apr 2015, 10:05

Nepal declares three days of mouring following ...

Nepal has declared three days of mourning ...

Wednesday, 29 Apr 2015, 10:01

Death toll in Nepal earthquake rises to 3,600

At least 3,617 people are now known ...

Monday, 27 Apr 2015, 13:05

1,800 dead in Nepal earthquake

Rescue efforts in Nepal are intensifying ...

Sunday, 26 Apr 2015, 08:07

Japanese magnetic train sets new world speed ...

A Japanese magnetic levitation train ...

Tuesday, 21 Apr 2015, 12:46

Gyro pilot arrested near White House

A man has been arrested after illegally ...

Thursday, 16 Apr 2015, 11:11

Hilary Clinton to run for US President

Former US Secretary of State Hillary ...

Monday, 13 Apr 2015, 09:23

Foreign troops land in Aden

Reports have emerged of foreign troops ...

Thursday, 02 Apr 2015, 13:09

Lucky escape as Air Canada plane crash lands

A plane has come off the runway at ...

Monday, 30 Mar 2015, 13:12

19 injured in New York city explosion

At least 19 people have been injured ...

Friday, 27 Mar 2015, 11:27