Opinion

Thinking,and acting, over a cycle

The “Government which Listens” session by Minister Edward Scicluna, held at the Auberge de Castile recently, was a most absorbing ...

Tuesday, 16 Jun 2015, 10:54

The other less problematic tyoes of banks

Even as the reputation of so many big banks across the world continues to be hit by malfeasance often of their own making – ...

Tuesday, 28 Apr 2015, 12:13

Financial Literacy

As chair of the Education Consultative Council of the Malta Financial Services Authority, on which I have since last January ...

Tuesday, 24 Mar 2015, 11:14

On naive fall guys

Once again I was at the merciless end of a radio programme (“Ghandi x’Nghid” on Radio Malta), in the sense ...

Wednesday, 04 Mar 2015, 10:26

Capolinea..and beyond?

The Italians have a nice expression for when one gets to a point of impasse: arrivare a capo linea. The train of evolution, or ...

Wednesday, 04 Feb 2015, 11:48

Fools rush in

I’ve had quite a few good laughs recently....about a lot of the trash that is emerging about the price of pump petrol from ...

Wednesday, 21 Jan 2015, 13:14

Reminiscing ......and learning

Many in my age group remember the big international debate (or movement) called the North-South dialogue. At some point there ...

Tuesday, 13 Jan 2015, 09:50

What the new 'enabling' will have to be about.

Economic theory holds that there are three main purposes which are served by government expenditure aimed at promoting self-reliance ...

Tuesday, 06 Jan 2015, 10:02

On wise playing of the cycle

Growth is continuing to cool in what many consider as one of the world’s major key drivers of demand, viz the Chinese economy. ...

Tuesday, 30 Dec 2014, 10:36

On Fiscal Creativity

The OECD (the international Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) has recently published a study which can be ...

Wednesday, 17 Dec 2014, 09:47

The GRTU and the Banks

That there is still a lot of investor ignorance in our general populace is undoubted. Suffice it to see the periodical instances ...

Tuesday, 25 Nov 2014, 12:10

The regular COLA whimpering.............

I was intrigued by the following paragraph in the article by the Chamber of Comerce’s Vice-President Stefano Mallia’s ...

Thursday, 20 Nov 2014, 10:51

Cutting down to size

It’s really funny to see how the so-called “developers” ( or should they really be known as the “ruiners”?) ...

Tuesday, 11 Nov 2014, 08:58

Is retail banking still desireable

Over the past couple of decades banks in many countries, but especially so in Western Europe, have made considerable efforts ...

Tuesday, 14 Oct 2014, 12:14

For how long?.....................

For how long must this nation of ours suffer journalists whose noses either only extend as far as their ability (or inability!) ...

Tuesday, 30 Sep 2014, 13:16

Local news

Minister Scicluna reacts to Greece No vote

Malta'sFinance Minister Edward Scicluna ...

Passing-out parade for new AFM recruits

Home Affairs and Security Minister Carmelo ...

Professor Joe Cannataci is UN's first ever ...

Professor Joe Cannataci, Head of the Department ...

May tourist numbers up on 2014

Total inbound visitors for May were estimated ...

Europe

Greek Finance Minister resigns

Greece's controversial Finance Minister, ...

Eurozone crisis as Greece votes No

Leaders scramble for emergency talks as ...

Greek Finance Minister attacks Athen creditors

Greek Finance Minister Yanis Varoufakis ...

Migrants disrupt French ferry services

Channel Tunnel services have been disrupted ...

World news

Pope Francis begins South America visit

Pope Francis has arrived in Ecuador on the ...

Wildfires hit Washington state east of Seattle

A series of major wildfires have been burning ...

Egypt's Public Prosecutor killed in bomb ...

Egypt's public prosecutor, Hisham Barakat, ...

IS strike back in Kobane

Islamic State fighters have attacked the ...

Earlier Opinion

Beware the Private Pension lobbyists

It is worrying to note how the pensions ...

Tuesday, 26 Aug 2014, 09:07

On Time in Russian Interllectualism

Hardly one day passes that the newslines, ...

Tuesday, 15 Jul 2014, 08:56

On rising inequalities

Economic inequality across the world ...

Tuesday, 01 Jul 2014, 11:04

What do they really want?

I have often expressed scepticism at ...

Wednesday, 18 Jun 2014, 08:36

Is the model right?

After HSBC Bank reduced its University ...

Thursday, 22 May 2014, 09:55

Some different thinking on unemployment

Along with many others in Malta who ...

Wednesday, 07 May 2014, 11:14

Turned silent.....Once again

Have you noticed? Over the past year…..so ...

Tuesday, 29 Apr 2014, 12:15

On rates of pay....and unemployment

Some economists hold that pay rates ...

Tuesday, 22 Apr 2014, 13:15

The hand on the steering wheel

….”Brussels forecasts ...

Wednesday, 16 Apr 2014, 09:50

Let's thank our stars

I still bump into people who try to ...

Wednesday, 09 Apr 2014, 13:08

The more it changes.............

Even as we commemorate, and perhaps ...

Wednesday, 26 Mar 2014, 12:29

On Workers and Capitalism

Loughborough University’s Maurizio ...

Tuesday, 18 Mar 2014, 12:25

Steady as she goes...........!

The Labour Party has now been in government ...

Tuesday, 11 Mar 2014, 09:43

Cannot really say what it's worth...but by ...

Green enthusiasm in our contemporary ...

Thursday, 27 Feb 2014, 13:06

Quoting one quarter is just not on, dear ...

This week’s blog is a reaction ...

Tuesday, 18 Feb 2014, 10:43